Greek Salad – the important stuff.

At JFK, looking at the picture of Greek salad and know it’s worth the many hours of travel to get to Paros.

Good flight to London, Athens next. Arrived in Athens at 6:30pm local time. Just in time for a fantastic Greek sunset. Door-to-door, 22 hours from Kinderhook to Athens.

John T, one of Famous George’s drivers, picked me up at Athens Airport and drove me to the Amarilia Hotel in Vouliagmeni, which I booked weeks ago, and have stayed at many times. A very apologetic reception manager said they had a problem. A flight that was suppose to take guests away that morning, was cancelled. My room was still occupied. So they were putting me in the Divani Apollon Hotel directly across the street, at the same price. Now, this is generous since Divani is a five star hotel group in Greece and not in my budget, but I have been to the Apollon spa and it is heaven. So here I am in five star luxe for two nights. Greece is suppose to be in crisis, but for hotels that run a good business and treat their repeat customers as well as the Amarilia treated me, there is no crisis. They are fully booked and the Divani is very busy too.

Leave a Reply

